Lake Lover

I spent the morning at the doctors.

It was one of those super frustrating things where you wait for over an hour to finally see the doctor and they have a 5 minute discussion with you, and then send you on your way with more questions than when you came in.

I understand that doctors have to be super cautious, and warn you of every little thing that could go wrong, but sometimes their enigmatic demeanor  and cryptic diagnoses can leave me with more stress than if I had skipped the doctor in the first place.

That’s neither here nor there, my opinion of the medical model notwithstanding, I needed an escape. And instead of drowning my frustration in empty calories, I decided to take a drive around the lake and take a walk by the water.

I don’t know what it is about large bodies of water, but they’re just so soothing. Maybe it has to do with our spending 9 months in the comforting waters sloshing about in our mother’s womb, or the fact that I’m part mermaid, but I have always found solace in being near water.

So I did just that. I walked around the lake for a bit, taking in the sunshine and counting my blessings. And though life can sometimes throw you curveballs, it’s nice to take stock in what you already have in your life and put things into perspective.

Here’s to counting blessings and silver linings.

Happy Wednesday all.

Leave a Reply

